MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in Dallas

Tesla MR's hybrid MRI program takes 12 to 18 months and needs no prior imaging credential: coursework is online, and our site team arranges your clinical training. Every other program a Dallas resident can attend is compared below.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$102K Avg. Salary
0 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition
Already in imaging?

Already working in an imaging department in the Dallas area?

X-ray, CT, and nuclear medicine techs, MRI aides, transporters, schedulers, and nurses who work around a scanner do not need a second degree or an X-ray license to move into MRI. The coursework is online, so you keep your job, and clinical hours can happen at a facility you already know.

Train where you work.

If your department has an MRI scanner and will host you, our site team asks them first. Your employer signs a site agreement and names an ARRT or ARMRIT mentor.

How clinicals at your current facility work

Keep your paycheck.

The online phases fit around a hospital schedule. Clinicals are the squeeze, and we show the schedules other hospital employees have used.

MRI school while working full time

Ask your employer to pay.

Some employers cover part of tuition, and we can invoice them directly. Here is what to ask HR before you pay a deposit.

Employer tuition reimbursement

Program at a glance

  • 12-18 month program
  • No prerequisites: a high school diploma or GED
  • 100% online coursework
  • Our site team handles clinical placement
  • Eligible to sit the ARMRIT exam on completion

Start your MRI career in Dallas

No application fee. Rolling admissions year-round.

View Program Details Or talk to an advisor
Your options

MRI programs available to Dallas residents

5 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. Only one of them trains you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Dallas College, Brookhaven Campus Farmers Branch, TX New program; first class fall 2026; fall admission only with HESI and prerequisite courses
MRI direct
AAS in Magnetic Resonance ImagingARRT (MR)
2 years, 5 semesters
No
In-person classes Monday and Wednesday plus 24 clinical hours a week
Per-semester estimates only; no program total published
Dallas College, MRI Advanced Technical Certificate Farmers Branch, TX Requires a current registry in radiography, nuclear medicine, radiation therapy, or sonography
MRI after X-ray
Advanced Technical Certificate in MRI (21 credits)ARRT (MR)
3 semesters, about 1 year
Yes
24 clinical hours a week; class format not stated
$2,079 in-county
Tarrant County College, Trinity River Campus Fort Worth, TX Requires current ARRT registration; fall admission only
MRI after X-ray
Advanced Technical Certificate, MRI TechnologyARRT (MR)
3 semesters
Yes
Hybrid: online plus on-campus Tuesday and Thursday evenings
$2,072 tuition and fees for 2026-27, excluding books
Dallas College, Radiologic Technology Farmers Branch, TX JRCERT accredited
X-ray first
AAS in Radiologic Technology (X-ray)ARRT (R)
2 years, full-time
No
In-person with clinical rotations
$5,940 in-county
Parker University Dallas, TX General education courses and a 3.0 GPA required first; no MRI track
X-ray first
AAS in Radiologic Technology (X-ray)ARRT (R)
74 credit hours; months not stated
No
In-person evening classes; six clinical courses at DFW sites
$777 per credit hour plus fees; no program total published

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 2, 2026 and Oct 31, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

The path

How to become an MRI tech in Dallas

Five steps, the same in Texas as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some of the in-person programs in the table above do require one.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in Dallas hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    Texas does not license MRI technologists; employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in Dallas, and which ones are in our clinical network

We are still building our network in the Dallas area. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in Dallas that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

We have not mapped Dallas employers yet. Tell us where you live and our site team will do it for your application.

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on October 31, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Growing here · Dallas

We are still building our network in Dallas. If you apply, the site team maps your area first and tells you what to expect before you commit.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI licensing in Texas

Texas licenses radiographers through the Texas Medical Board’s Medical Radiologic Technologist program, but MRI is exempt from that requirement because it does not use ionizing radiation. Dallas and Fort Worth employers, from the large hospital systems to outpatient imaging groups, hire on ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Read each posting, because some hospital roles still ask for ARRT.

Where MRI techs work in Dallas-Fort Worth

Job postings often say MRI technician; the credentialed title is MRI technologist. Dallas-Fort Worth is the largest healthcare market in Texas: UT Southwestern, Baylor Scott & White, Texas Health Resources, HCA Medical City Healthcare and Methodist Health System run the hospital side, and Envision Imaging, North Star Diagnostic Imaging, Lumexa Imaging and Midtown Medical Imaging run outpatient MRI across Dallas, Fort Worth, Plano, Frisco and Arlington. The employer cards above show which of these are affiliated with Tesla MR today, and UT Southwestern has hosted more Tesla MR students than any other Texas facility.

What MRI techs earn in Dallas

The BLS reports a median of $102,490 for MRI technologists in the Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington metro (OEWS, May 2025), above the Texas median of $96,780 and the national median of $95,480. Entry-level pay sits below that, with shift differentials and specialty work pushing experienced techs above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide for the full breakdown by state.

💡

Key Takeaway

A site count on a web page is not the number that matters. What matters is what the site team finds when it looks at your specific location, and that happens during admissions, before you commit.

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it.

The site team keeps working your area, looks at nearby facilities and any leads you bring us, and talks through the options with you, which can include a farther site or adjusting your timeline. Placement timing depends on facilities having capacity, so we give you our read on your area during admissions rather than after you enroll.

Each student is matched to a facility with capacity for their dates. If one facility cannot take everyone, the site team works the other affiliated sites listed on this page and adds new ones as needed.

Yes. Dallas College's new AAS in MRI at Brookhaven admits students with no imaging credential starting fall 2026, and so does Tesla MR's hybrid certificate. The post-primary certificates at Dallas College and Tarrant County College require an existing registry, so check that column before you apply anywhere.

The BLS median for MRI technologists in the Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington metro is $102,490 a year (OEWS, May 2025), second only to Houston among Texas metros and above the national median of $95,480. Entry-level pay sits below the median; hospital systems and shift differentials push experienced techs above it. Texas has no state income tax.

Tarrant County College runs its post-primary MRI certificate as a hybrid with online coursework and Tuesday and Thursday evening classes, but it requires a prior ARRT registry. For career changers, Tesla MR puts every lecture online and places the clinical hours at an affiliated Dallas-Fort Worth facility. No program can put the clinical hours themselves online.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in Dallas?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in Dallas 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now