MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in New York

Tesla MR's hybrid MRI program takes 12 to 18 months and needs no prior imaging credential: coursework is online, and our site team arranges your clinical training. Every other program a New York resident can attend is compared below.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$113K Avg. Salary
0 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition

Program at a glance

  • 12-18 month program
  • No prerequisites: a high school diploma or GED
  • 100% online coursework
  • Our site team handles clinical placement
  • Eligible to sit the ARMRIT exam on completion

Start your MRI career in New York

No application fee. Rolling admissions year-round.

View Program Details Or talk to an advisor
Your options

MRI programs available to New York residents

9 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. None of them train you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential; the local route is X-ray first, then MRI. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Molloy University (MRI Program: Registry Prep and Review) Rockville Centre, NY Must be ARRT or NMTCB registered in radiography, nuclear medicine or radiation therapy with a current NYS license
MRI after X-ray
Non-credit continuing education course, 87.5 ASRT Category A CE credits (no degree)ARRT (MR) post-primary
One semester (14 weeks), 87.5 contact hours, two evenings a week, offered every spring
Yes
Online via Zoom at set meeting times; clinical competencies in person at a Molloy affiliate or the student's own workplace
$2,500 for didactic lectures (2025-2026)
Alfred State College, SUNY (MRI Certificate) Alfred, NY Requires a radiologic technology associate degree or JRCERT program certificate, plus proof of ARRT certification
MRI after X-ray
Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (16 credits)ARRT (MR) post-primary
2 semesters
Yes
Mostly online with required in-person clinical experience
Not published
SUNY Upstate Medical University (BPS Medical Imaging Sciences, MRI) Syracuse, NY For ARRT radiography certified or eligible applicants; fall start only; MRI clinical sites in Syracuse, Binghamton, Utica and Rochester
MRI after X-ray
Bachelor of Professional Studies in Medical Imaging Sciences, MRI specialtyARRT (MR) post-primary
Three consecutive semesters
Yes
On-campus weekday classes or online asynchronous classes; clinical rotations in person on day shift
Not published
CUNY New York City College of Technology (BS Radiological Science, MRI specialization) Brooklyn, NY Requires an associate degree or 2-year hospital certificate in a radiologic discipline and current ARRT, ARDMS or NMTCB certification
MRI after X-ray
BS in Radiological Science with MRI specializationARRT (MR) post-primary
4 semesters for the specialization tracks
Yes
Hybrid instruction; in-person clinical rotations of one half to one shift per week
Not published
CUNY New York City College of Technology (Radiologic Technology AAS) Brooklyn, NY JRCERT accredited through 2032; one class admitted per year, fall start
X-ray first
AAS in Radiologic Technology and Medical ImagingARRT (R)
Not stated
No
In-person classes with clinical experience at affiliated NYC hospitals
Not published
Center for Allied Health Education (Radiography Program) Brooklyn, NY JRCERT accredited; campuses in Brooklyn and Staten Island; no MRI program listed
X-ray first
Certificate of Completion in Radiography (AS degree option through St. Francis College)ARRT (R)
22 months (74 weeks)
No
Hybrid with in-person labs and clinical rotations; day and evening schedules
$59,500 tuition plus $4,575 in fees, $64,075 total (2025-2027)
SUNY Westchester Community College (Radiologic Technology AAS) Valhalla, NY JRCERT accredited, next review 2028; admission described as highly selective
X-ray first
AAS in Radiologic Technology (70 credits)ARRT (R)
6 semesters including 2 summers
No
In-person with clinical education and simulation lab
Not published
Hudson Valley Community College (Radiologic Technology AAS) Troy, NY JRCERT accredited; competitive selective admission
X-ray first
AAS in Radiologic TechnologyARRT (R)
Not stated
No
In-person classes, laboratory and clinical experience
Tuition not published on the program page; expenses sheet lists $2,498.86 in non-tuition costs (updated 2023)
Trocaire College (Radiologic Technology AAS) Buffalo, NY JRCERT accredited through 2027; fall start; no MRI certificate listed
X-ray first
AAS in Radiologic Technology (minimum 74 semester hours)ARRT (R)
2 years (5 semesters including summer clinical)
No
On-site day program
Not published

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Oct 31, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

The path

How to become an MRI tech in New York

Five steps, the same in New York as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some of the in-person programs in the table above do require one.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in New York hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    New York licenses radiologic technologists who use ionizing radiation, and its licensing pages do not name MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in New York, and which ones are in our clinical network

We are still building our network in New York. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in New York that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

We have not mapped New York employers yet. Tell us where you live and our site team will do it for your application.

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on October 31, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Growing here · New York

We are still building our network in New York. If you apply, the site team maps your area first and tells you what to expect before you commit.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in New York

The New York State Department of Health licenses radiologic technologists in radiography, radiation therapy, and nuclear medicine, and ties the requirement to ionizing radiation equipment. Its licensing pages do not name MRI, which uses no ionizing radiation. Some New York MRI programs still ask for a current state radiologic technologist license because they only admit working X-ray technologists.

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

💡

Key Takeaway

New York licenses radiologic technologists who use ionizing radiation, and its licensing pages do not name MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in New York

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $113,270 for MRI technologists in New York, with about 3,240 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, New York radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $98,470.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Where MRI techs work in New York

Major healthcare employers in New York include Northwell Health, NYU Langone Health, NewYork-Presbyterian, Mount Sinai Health System, Rochester Regional Health, Montefiore Health System. These systems operate hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, and specialty clinics across the state. The New York City metro area is one of the largest and highest-paying MRI job markets in the country, with world-renowned institutions like NYU Langone, NewYork-Presbyterian, and Mount Sinai competing for top talent. Upstate New York offers a dramatically different market, lower cost of living, fewer opportunities, but strong community health systems. The state’s strong union presence in many hospital systems provides additional protections and often higher base wages for imaging professionals.

MRI programs by city in New York

Looking for MRI training in a specific New York city? See our detailed guides:


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. Every New York MRI program we verified asks for an existing imaging registry first, so the local route starts with X-ray. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a New York median of $98,470 versus $113,270 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In New York the harder part is often the entry requirement, since every MRI program we verified in the state asks for an existing imaging registry first. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Not through a New York campus program that we could verify: each MRI program in the state asks for an existing ARRT, ARDMS, or NMTCB registry, so the local route is X-ray first. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate accepts students with no prior imaging credential and places clinicals at affiliated New York sites. Check the prior X-ray column in the table above before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated New York health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in New York?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in New York 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now