MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in Florida

9 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option, compared side by side below. 2 local programs and Tesla MR admit you without a prior X-ray credential.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$84K Avg. Salary
0 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition
Already in imaging?

Already working in an imaging department in Florida?

X-ray, CT, and nuclear medicine techs, MRI aides, transporters, schedulers, and nurses who work around a scanner do not need a second degree or an X-ray license to move into MRI. The coursework is online, so you keep your job, and clinical hours can happen at a facility you already know.

Train where you work.

If your department has an MRI scanner and will host you, our site team asks them first. Your employer signs a site agreement and names an ARRT or ARMRIT mentor.

How clinicals at your current facility work

Keep your paycheck.

The online phases fit around a hospital schedule. Clinicals are the squeeze, and we show the schedules other hospital employees have used.

MRI school while working full time

Ask your employer to pay.

Some employers cover part of tuition, and we can invoice them directly. Here is what to ask HR before you pay a deposit.

Employer tuition reimbursement
Your options

MRI programs available to Florida residents

9 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. 2 of them train you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Med College (Associate of Science in MRI Technology) Hialeah, FL ARMRIT accredited; no imaging registry listed among admission requirements
MRI direct
Associate of Science in MRI Technology (108 credit hours)ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT
Not stated
No
Hybrid (in-person and online)
$420 per credit hour, $45,360 total tuition for 108 credit hours (page cites 2023-2024 rates)
Med College (MRI Technology Diploma) Hialeah, FL ARMRIT accredited; page says ARRT eligibility applies only if the student holds an associate degree in any field
MRI direct
Diploma in MRI Technology (96 credit hours)ARMRIT
Not stated
No
Hybrid (in-person and online)
$420 per credit hour, $35,280 total for 96 credit hours (2023-2024 rates)
Miami Dade College (MRI Advanced Technical Certificate) Miami, FL Medical Campus; requires a current ARRT or ARDMS credential in radiography, nuclear medicine, radiation therapy or ultrasound
MRI after X-ray
Advanced Technical Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (15 credits)ARRT (MR) post-primary
1 year or less
Yes
Not stated
Not published
Palm Beach State College (MRI Advanced Technical Certificate) Palm Beach Gardens, FL Fall start; requires an associate degree, ARRT registration and a Florida DOH license in radiography, nuclear medicine or radiation therapy
MRI after X-ray
Advanced Technical Certificate in MRI (15 credits)ARRT (MR) post-primary
Two semesters, about 10 months, August to May
Yes
Online coursework and in-person clinical experience at local hospitals
$122.85 per credit hour for Florida residents, plus fees (academic year not stated)
Valencia College (MRI Advanced Technical Certificate) Orlando, FL Limited access, West Campus, fall start; requires an associate degree or higher in an imaging discipline plus current certification
MRI after X-ray
Advanced Technical Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (15 credits)ARRT (MR) post-primary
Not stated
Yes
Courses online except clinical education
Tuition total not published; 2026-27 catalog lists $955 in program expenses on top of per-credit fees
AdventHealth University (Advanced Imaging Certificate in MRI) Orlando, FL Requires current ARRT, NMTCB or ARDMS registration and a 2.5 GPA; cohort size depends on clinical availability
MRI after X-ray
Advanced Imaging Certificate in Magnetic Resonance ImagingARRT (MR) post-primary
One year
Yes
Online coursework with clinical training
Not published
UF Health Jacksonville (MRI Advanced Certificate Program) Jacksonville, FL For certified and registered radiologic technologists; covers ARRT clinical competencies and the 16 structured education credits
MRI after X-ray
Hospital-based MRI advanced certificateARRT (MR) post-primary
4 months
Yes
In-person clinical training with MRI technologists
Not published
Broward College (Radiography AS) Davie, FL JRCERT accredited; about 40 students a year, August start
X-ray first
Associate of Science in Radiography (77 credits)ARRT (R)
22 months (six semesters), plus prerequisites
No
On-campus classes and labs, some online instruction, clinical education in area hospitals
Not published
Santa Fe College (Radiography AS) Gainesville, FL JRCERT accredited; fall start
X-ray first
Associate of Science in Radiography (77 credit hours)ARRT (R)
20 months across five semesters
No
On-campus, online and virtual courses; clinical internships in Gainesville and Lake City
$12,252.19 estimated total for Florida residents, $33,514.20 for non-residents (academic year not stated)

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Oct 31, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

The path

How to become an MRI tech in Florida

Five steps, the same in Florida as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some of the in-person programs in the table above do require one.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in Florida hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    Florida does not license MRI technologists. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in Florida, and which ones are in our clinical network

We are still building our network in Florida. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in Florida that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

We have not mapped Florida employers yet. Tell us where you live and our site team will do it for your application.

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on October 31, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Growing here · Florida

We are still building our network in Florida. If you apply, the site team maps your area first and tells you what to expect before you commit.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in Florida

The Florida Department of Health does not license MRI operators. Its radiologic technologist FAQ says Chapter 468, Part IV of Florida Statutes does not require certification to operate MR equipment, because the statute covers only ionizing radiation, and the Department no longer issues or renews MR certificates.

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

💡

Key Takeaway

Florida does not license MRI technologists. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in Florida

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $84,330 for MRI technologists in Florida, with about 2,860 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, Florida radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $76,750.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Florida MRI tech job market

Florida’s MRI job market is driven by three factors:

1. Population growth. Florida is one of the fastest-growing states in the country. New residents mean new healthcare facilities, new MRI scanners, and new positions. The state added over 300,000 residents in 2024 alone.

2. Aging demographics. Florida’s large retiree population drives above-average demand for diagnostic imaging. MRI usage increases significantly with age, particularly for musculoskeletal, neurological, and oncological indications.

3. Healthcare infrastructure expansion. Major systems like HCA, AdventHealth, and Baptist Health are actively building new facilities across the state. Each new hospital or imaging center needs MRI technologists.

The practical result: Florida consistently has strong demand for MRI techs, particularly in the faster-growing metros (Tampa, Orlando, Jacksonville) and in areas with high retiree populations (Southwest Florida, Space Coast).

MRI programs by city in Florida

Looking for MRI training in a specific Florida city? See our detailed guides:


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. 2 of the Florida programs in the table above take students with no imaging credential; their lengths are listed in the Length column. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a Florida median of $76,750 versus $84,330 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In Florida the harder part is often getting a seat, since campus MRI cohorts are small and most admit once a year. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Yes. Med College (Associate of Science in MRI Technology) and Tesla MR's hybrid certificate both accept students with no prior imaging credential. The post-primary certificates in the table require an existing ARRT, ARDMS, or NMTCB registry, so check the prior X-ray column before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated Florida health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in Florida?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in Florida 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now