MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in Kentucky

Every MRI technologist program a Kentucky resident can attend, compared side by side, plus which Kentucky health systems are in Tesla MR's clinical network and exactly how placement works.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$82K Avg. Salary
3 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition
The path

How to become an MRI tech in Kentucky

Five steps, the same in Kentucky as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some in-person programs below do require one, so check the table.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in Kentucky hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    Kentucky does not license MRI technologists. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Your options

MRI programs available to Kentucky residents

9 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. 3 of them train you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
University of Cincinnati, College of Allied Health Sciences (AMIT MRI Certificate) Cincinnati, OH Neighboring-state program. JRCERT accredited MRI program, 8-year award, renewal due 2033. Admission needs an associate degree plus healthcare experience, or a baccalaureate degree; no imaging registry required. Competitive admission, fall start.
MRI direct
Magnetic Resonance Imaging Certificate (post-associate; credits not stated)ARRT (MR)
12 consecutive months, fall start through the following summer
No
Classroom, online learning and clinical instruction; distance learning option in select regions including Lexington KY and Louisville KY with synchronous didactic courses and in-person clinicals
Not published
University of Cincinnati (BS in Advanced Medical Imaging Technology) Cincinnati, OH Neighboring-state program. Graduates meet ARRT eligibility in MRI and nuclear medicine plus the NMTCB exam. MRI accredited by JRCERT through 2033. Spots each year depend on clinical site capacity.
MRI direct
Bachelor's degree in Advanced Medical Imaging Technology (MRI and nuclear medicine)ARRT (MR)
Not stated (bachelor's degree)
No
On campus, or distance learning with didactic courses attended synchronously via Zoom and clinicals in person; no asynchronous option
Not published
Morehead State University (Computed Tomography and Magnetic Resonance BS) Morehead, KY Applicants must be ARRT registered in Radiography, or certified before the fall semester. JRCERT accredited, 5-year award. Applications open in January, due the 1st Monday in April. Enrollment limited by clinical placements.
MRI after X-ray
Bachelor of Science in Computed Tomography and Magnetic ResonanceARRT (MR) post-primary
11 months, full time
Yes
Face-to-face on the Morehead campus, with distance education for didactic courses available in Hazard, Louisville, Paducah and Somerset
Not published
Somerset Community College (Advanced Imaging in Radiography, MRI Track) Somerset, KY Requires proof of ARRT registry in Radiography or sophomore radiography student status. Didactic courses offered in alternating semesters.
MRI after X-ray
Advanced Imaging in Radiography Certificate, Magnetic Resonance Imaging Track (four 3 credit hour didactic courses and one clinical practice course)ARRT (MR) post-primary
Part-time, 1 to 3 courses per semester; total length not stated
Yes
All four didactic courses 100% online; clinical course offered every semester including summer
2026-27 KCTCS tuition: $198 per credit hour resident, $270 per credit hour nonresident, plus $8 per credit hour mandatory fee (college tuition page); program total not published
Owensboro Community and Technical College (Advanced Imaging in Radiography, MRI Track) Owensboro, KY College page lists the Advanced Imaging certificate (3 tracks) and links to the KCTCS catalog, which lists the MRI track at Owensboro and limits it to ARRT Radiography or NMTCB registrants, second-year radiography or nuclear medicine students, or instructor consent.
MRI after X-ray
Advanced Imaging in Radiography Certificate, Magnetic Resonance Imaging Track (16 credits per KCTCS catalog)ARRT (MR) post-primary
Not stated
Yes
Not stated
2026-27 KCTCS tuition: $198 per credit hour resident, $270 per credit hour nonresident, plus $8 per credit hour mandatory fee (college tuition page); program total not published
Beckfield College (AAS in Magnetic Resonance Imaging) Florence, KY Institutionally accredited by ABHES. Admission (catalog, revised 6.24.2026) lists a STEM degree or 18 STEM semester credits, or a radiologic technology diploma or degree, and a Wonderlic SLE score of 22. Cost and admission criteria from https://www.beckfield.edu/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/2026-Beckfield-College-Academic-Catalog_V1_6JAN26_ADDENDA_15SEP2026.pdf
MRI direct
Associate of Applied Science in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (98 quarter credits)ARRT (MR)
Approximately 24 months (88 weeks per the 2026 catalog)
No
Blended delivery with on-campus lab simulation and supervised clinicals at a clinical site
$36,110 estimated total program tuition ($375 per credit hour), 2026 Academic Catalog; fees extra
Bluegrass Community and Technical College (Radiography AAS) Lexington, KY JRCERT accredited, 8-year award granted 1/2025. Application deadline March 1; class accepted in late spring for fall start. Page states the college does not offer advanced certification programs such as MRI or CT.
X-ray first
Associate in Applied Science in RadiographyARRT (R)
21 months full time
No
In-person classroom, laboratory and clinical practice on the Leestown Campus; prerequisite and general education courses may be taken online
2026-27 KCTCS tuition: $198 per credit hour resident, $270 per credit hour nonresident, plus $8 per credit hour mandatory fee (college tuition page); program total not published
Jefferson Community and Technical College (Radiography AAS) Louisville, KY New class accepted in late spring for the fall semester. Pre-admission conference and HESI A2 exam required; for the 2026 cycle the HESI A2 was due May 1, 2026.
X-ray first
Associate in Applied Science in RadiographyNot stated
21 months full time
No
In-person academic and laboratory courses with clinical instruction at Louisville-area hospitals
2026-27 KCTCS tuition: $198 per credit hour resident, $270 per credit hour nonresident, plus $8 per credit hour mandatory fee (college tuition page); program total not published
West Kentucky Community and Technical College (Radiography AAS) Paducah, KY JRCERT accredited, 8-year award. No MRI or CT certificate listed on the program page.
X-ray first
Associate in Applied Science in RadiographyARRT (R)
Two years full time
No
Not stated
2026-27 KCTCS tuition: $198 per credit hour resident, $270 per credit hour nonresident, plus $8 per credit hour mandatory fee (college tuition page); program total not published

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Sep 21, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in Kentucky, and which ones are in our clinical network

Tesla MR has 3 affiliated clinical sites in Kentucky. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in Kentucky that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

Deaconess Health System

Affiliated site
  • Henderson Hospital (Henderson) Henderson

ProScan Imaging

Affiliated site
  • Louisville St Matthews

SimonMed Imaging

Affiliated site
  • Kentucky Louisville

Heartland Imaging

Employer, not yet affiliated
  • Louisville - Shelbyville Louisville

UK Interventional Radiology

Employer, not yet affiliated
  • UK Interventional Radiology Lexington

UofL Health

Employer, not yet affiliated
  • UofL Health Fairdale

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on September 21, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Growing here · Kentucky

We have 3 affiliated sites in Kentucky and are actively adding more. If you apply, the site team looks at your specific location first and tells you what to expect.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in Kentucky

Kentucky does not require a state license specifically for MRI technologists. The Kentucky Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy (KBMIRT) licenses radiographers, nuclear medicine technologists, radiation therapists, radiologist assistants and limited X-ray machine operators, and its license categories page states that it “does not currently license individuals that practice magnetic resonance imaging or sonography.”

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

💡

Key Takeaway

Kentucky does not license MRI technologists. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in Kentucky

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $82,200 for MRI technologists in Kentucky, with about 650 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, Kentucky radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $69,670.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Where MRI techs work in Kentucky

Major healthcare employers in Kentucky include Norton Healthcare, Baptist Health (KY), UK HealthCare, CHI Saint Joseph Health, Appalachian Regional Healthcare, KentuckyOne Health. These systems operate hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, and specialty clinics across the state.

Kentucky’s MRI market is dominated by Norton Healthcare and Baptist Health in the Louisville corridor and UK HealthCare in Lexington. Eastern Kentucky’s Appalachian communities face severe healthcare workforce shortages, and Appalachian Regional Healthcare often provides among the most aggressive recruitment packages in the state for imaging professionals. Northern Kentucky benefits from proximity to the Cincinnati labor market, which pushes salaries higher. The state’s opioid crisis and aging population create sustained imaging demand.


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. One Kentucky program in the table above, Beckfield College (AAS in Magnetic Resonance Imaging), takes students with no imaging credential; its length is listed in the Length column. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a Kentucky median of $69,670 versus $82,200 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In Kentucky the harder part is often getting a seat, since campus MRI cohorts are small and most admit once a year. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Yes. Beckfield College (AAS in Magnetic Resonance Imaging) and Tesla MR's hybrid certificate both accept students with no prior imaging credential. The post-primary certificates in the table require an existing ARRT, ARDMS, or NMTCB registry, so check the prior X-ray column before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated Kentucky health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in Kentucky?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in Kentucky 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now