MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in Maryland

Every MRI technologist program a Maryland resident can attend, compared side by side, plus which Maryland health systems are in Tesla MR's clinical network and exactly how placement works.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$105K Avg. Salary
117 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition
The path

How to become an MRI tech in Maryland

Five steps, the same in Maryland as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some in-person programs below do require one, so check the table.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in Maryland hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    Maryland licenses radiographers and other ionizing-radiation roles, and its regulations do not name MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Your options

MRI programs available to Maryland residents

8 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. Only one of them trains you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Community College of Baltimore County (MRI Certificate) Essex (Baltimore County), MD Selective admission, requires permission of the Program Coordinator. Applicants must be ARRT registered and Maryland licensed radiographers, nuclear medicine technologists, radiation therapists, or sonographers. Courses only at the Essex campus, starts in October or June.
MRI after X-ray
Credit Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (21 credits)ARRT (MR) post-primary
Not stated
Yes
In-person
Not published on the program page; CCBC tuition page lists $124 per credit for Baltimore County residents, $246 per credit for other Maryland residents, $377 per credit out-of-state in-person, academic year 2026-2027
Howard Community College (CT and MRI Technologist, continuing education) Columbia, MD Applicants must currently be ARRT registered in sonography, radiography, radiation therapy, or nuclear medicine technology. Page states applications are currently closed and to check back in September 2026.
MRI after X-ray
Certificate of Completion (noncredit continuing education)ARRT (MR) post-primary
8 to 15 months of classwork and clinical hours
Yes
Hybrid, two days a week: on campus every Thursday and the first Wednesday, other Wednesdays online in Canvas, plus weekly clinical rotation
Not published
Hagerstown Community College (Magnetic Resonance Imaging Certificate) Hagerstown, MD Open to current ARRT certified technologists and students in the sophomore year of a JRCERT accredited program. Apply by August 15 for fall or December 15 for spring. Fact sheet and catalog say 16 credits, fee sheet says 14.
MRI after X-ray
Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (16 credits)ARRT (MR)
On average five semesters per the program fact sheet
Yes
Hybrid: lecture courses online or online/lecture hybrid, some travel to main campus, in-person clinical practicum (minimum 180 clinical hours each semester)
2026-2027 fee sheet (estimated, lists 14 credits): tuition $1,792 in-county at $128 per credit, $2,800 out-of-county at $200 per credit, $3,668 out-of-state at $262 per credit, plus $1,100 course fees, $20 per credit college fee, and $711 textbooks
Montgomery College (Radiologic (X-Ray) Technology AAS) Takoma Park/Silver Spring, MD JRCERT accredited. Selective program with specific admissions requirements. Takoma Park/Silver Spring Campus.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic (X-Ray) Technology (66 credits)ARRT (R)
Minimum of two years of didactic and clinical experience
No
Not stated
Not published
Wor-Wic Community College (Radiologic Technology AAS) Salisbury, MD Accepts 16 new students each July. JRCERT accredited, eight-year award. Admission requirements due by the third Friday in May. Prospective student meeting is mandatory.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic TechnologyARRT (R)
Not stated
No
In-person classroom, on-campus x-ray laboratory, and clinical rotations at facilities across the Eastern Shore
Not published
WVU Medicine / WVU Hospitals (Magnetic Resonance Imaging Program) Morgantown, WV Neighboring state option for western Maryland. JRCERT accredited, up to 6 students per year. Apply by February 1, starts first week of July. Admissions policy requires graduation from a JRCERT accredited radiography program; graduates sit for the ARRT primary MRI exam.
MRI after X-ray
Certificate in Magnetic Resonance ImagingARRT (MR)
12 months
Yes
Didactic and clinical education at the WVU Center for Advanced Imaging
Tuition is $2,000 per semester ($4,000 for the 12-month program), plus $50 admission fee and $100 clinical tracking fee; no academic year stated on the page
Thomas Jefferson University (BS in Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences, MRI concentration) Philadelphia, PA Neighboring state option for northeastern Maryland. JRCERT accredited, eight-year award. Prerequisite college credits required; the school does not guarantee the second-year concentration of choice in the 2-year option.
MRI direct
Bachelor of Science in Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences, Magnetic Resonance Imaging concentrationARRT (MR)
1-Year program (12 months full-time) for applicants with a bachelor's degree or a completed accredited imaging program; 2-Year Dual-Concentration program (24 months) for students with no education in the radiologic sciences
No
On campus (Center City)
Not published
Johns Hopkins Medicine (MRI Technologist Training Program) Baltimore, MD Post-primary program for registered technologists
MRI after X-ray
Hospital-based MRI technologist training programNot stated
Six months, full time
Yes
Classroom and clinical training
Not published; the page describes it as a paid program

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Sep 21, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in Maryland, and which ones are in our clinical network

Tesla MR has 117 affiliated clinical sites in Maryland. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in Maryland that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

Advanced Radiology

Affiliated site
  • Aberdeen Aberdeen
  • Aiello Center at BWMC Glen Burnie
  • Annapolis Annapolis
  • Arundel Mills Hanover
  • Columbia 100 Parkway Columbia
  • Crain Towers Glen Burnie
  • +21 more locations

Community Radiology

Affiliated site
  • Bethesda Imaging Center Bethesda
  • Bowie Radiology Services Bowie
  • Bowie South Bowie
  • Clinton Clinton
  • Crestwood Frederick
  • Frederick Imaging Center Frederick
  • +16 more locations

CMI

Affiliated site
  • Annapolis (Bestgate) Annapolis
  • Annapolis (Defense) Annapolis
  • Annapolis (Weems Creek) Annapolis
  • Bowie Bowie
  • Catonsville Baltimore
  • Chestertown Chestertown
  • +6 more locations

University of Maryland

Affiliated site
  • BWMC Glen Burnie
  • Capital Region Largo
  • Charles Regional La Plata
  • Easton Easton
  • Mt. Washington Pediatric Baltimore
  • Rehabilitation and Orthopedic Baltimore
  • +5 more locations

MedStar Health

Affiliated site
  • Calvert Arts Prince Frederick
  • Franklin Square Medical Center Baltimore
  • Good Samaritan Hospital Baltimore
  • Harbor Hospital Baltimore
  • MedStar Health MD
  • Montgomery Medical Center Olney
  • +4 more locations

Solis

Affiliated site
  • Bel Air Bel Air
  • Bethesda Bethesda
  • Germantown Germantown
  • Greenbelt Greenbelt
  • Hagerstown Hagerstown
  • Olney Olney
  • +2 more locations

RadX

Affiliated site
  • Greenbelt Greenbelt
  • Owings Mills Owings Mills
  • Oxon Hill Oxon Hill
  • Rockville Rockville
  • Washington Open MRI Oxon Hill

Charter Radiology

Affiliated site
  • Charter Radiology Columbia
  • Clarksville Clarksville
  • Columbia Columbia
  • Reisterstown Reisterstown

Plus 15 more imaging groups in the area.

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on September 21, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Deep network · Maryland

Maryland is one of our larger markets, with 117 affiliated sites across several health systems. Students here are typically placed within the existing network.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in Maryland

Maryland’s Board of Physicians licenses radiographers, nuclear medicine technologists, radiation therapists, and radiologist assistants under COMAR 10.32.10. That chapter defines practicing radiography as using ionizing radiation and does not mention magnetic resonance imaging, so it sets out no MRI-specific license. Employers and programs may still require an ARRT registry and a Maryland license in the technologist’s primary discipline.

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

💡

Key Takeaway

Maryland licenses radiographers and other ionizing-radiation roles, and its regulations do not name MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in Maryland

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $105,230 for MRI technologists in Maryland, with about 770 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, Maryland radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $85,890.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Maryland MRI tech job market

Maryland’s job market for MRI technologists is driven by three factors:

1. Major hospital system concentration. Baltimore alone has Johns Hopkins, University of Maryland, MedStar, and LifeBridge, each running multiple MRI scanners across multiple campuses. The DC metro side adds Walter Reed, NIH, and Adventist HealthCare.

2. Federal medical facilities. Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Bethesda and the National Institutes of Health create additional demand that most states do not have. Federal MRI positions often come with strong benefits packages and job security, though clearance requirements can slow the hiring process.

3. Aging workforce. Like the rest of the country, Maryland’s existing MRI technologist workforce is aging. The national projection is 8% employment growth for MRI techs from 2025 to 2035 according to BLS, but states with older workforces will need to replace retiring techs on top of that growth.

The practical result: Maryland employers are hiring, and the combination of competitive salaries and program availability makes it one of the better states to enter the field.

MRI programs by city in Maryland

Looking for MRI training in a specific Maryland city? See our detailed guides:


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. Every Maryland MRI program we verified asks for an existing imaging registry first, so the local route starts with X-ray. The nearest campus option we found is Thomas Jefferson University (BS in Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences, MRI concentration) in Philadelphia, PA. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a Maryland median of $85,890 versus $105,230 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In Maryland the harder part is often the entry requirement, since every MRI program we verified in the state asks for an existing imaging registry first. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Not through a Maryland campus program that we could verify: each MRI program in the state asks for an existing ARRT, ARDMS, or NMTCB registry, so the local route is X-ray first. The nearest campus option we found is Thomas Jefferson University (BS in Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences, MRI concentration) in Philadelphia, PA. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate accepts students with no prior imaging credential and places clinicals at affiliated Maryland sites. Check the prior X-ray column in the table above before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated Maryland health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in Maryland?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in Maryland 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now