MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in Rhode Island

7 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option, compared side by side below. 3 local programs and Tesla MR admit you without a prior X-ray credential.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$105K Avg. Salary
0 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition
Your options

MRI programs available to Rhode Island residents

7 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. 3 of them train you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Rhode Island College with Brown University Health School of Medical Imaging (BS in Medical Imaging, MRI concentration) Providence, RI JRCERT accredited MRI program per brownhealth.org; application period December 1, 2026 to March 1, 2027; cumulative GPA 2.7 or higher and TEAS score of 60 or higher; clinical rotations at Rhode Island Hospital, The Miriam Hospital, Newport Hospital and others.
MRI direct
BS in Medical Imaging, Magnetic Resonance Imaging concentration, plus certificate from the School of Medical ImagingARRT (MR)
20-month clinical program after pre-clinical coursework at Rhode Island College (minimum 60 credit hours of required coursework before applying)
No
Combination of in-person, hybrid, and distance education components, with in-person assessments and clinical training
RIC 2026-2027 in-state undergraduate: $411 per credit tuition, $12,123 per year full-time tuition and fees (RIC tuition page); School of Medical Imaging states tuition for degree holder applicants is $5,000 per semester for each of five semesters
Community College of Rhode Island (Magnetic Resonance Imaging Certificate) Lincoln, RI Requires current ARRT certification as a radiologic technologist, or ARDMS or NMTCB certification; performance-based Health Sciences application and background check; Flanagan Campus.
MRI after X-ray
Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (18 credits)ARRT (MR) post-primary
Two semesters (one academic year)
Yes
Classroom instruction with supervised clinical practice
Program page refers to current CCRI tuition and fees; CCRI bursar page lists Fall 2026 in-state tuition of $255.00 per credit, plus fees
Brown University Health School of Medical Imaging (post-primary MRI for registered technologists) Providence, RI School states it offers post-primary education in CT, mammography, vascular interventional radiography, and MRI for eligible, currently registered technologists; contact the school at 401-606-8531 for details.
MRI after X-ray
Post-primary didactic and clinical education in MRIARRT (MR) post-primary
Not stated
Yes
Not stated
Not published
Community College of Rhode Island (Radiography) Lincoln, RI JRCERT accredited; apply in February during the Health Sciences open application period; program begins in June; Flanagan Campus.
X-ray first
AAS in Radiography (77 credits)ARRT (R)
24 months (six semesters)
No
Full-time, classroom instruction at the college with clinical education at affiliated imaging facilities
Program page refers to current CCRI tuition and fees; CCRI bursar page lists Fall 2026 in-state tuition of $255.00 per credit, or $2,792.00 full-time per semester, plus fees
Rhode Island College with Brown University Health School of Medical Imaging (BS in Medical Imaging, Radiography concentration) Providence, RI JRCERT accredited, current award 8 years; application period December 1, 2026 to March 1, 2027; cumulative GPA 2.7 or higher and TEAS score of 60 or higher.
X-ray first
BS in Medical Imaging, Radiography concentration, plus certificate from the School of Medical ImagingARRT (R)
20-month clinical program after pre-clinical coursework at Rhode Island College
No
In-person clinical program with exposure to a variety of clinical settings; coursework through Rhode Island College
RIC 2026-2027 in-state undergraduate: $411 per credit tuition, $12,123 per year full-time tuition and fees (RIC tuition page); School of Medical Imaging states tuition for degree holder applicants is $5,000 per semester for each of five semesters
MCPHS (Magnetic Resonance Imaging BS, Fast Track) Boston, MA Neighboring state option; designed for associate or bachelor degree holders and transfer students; spring start.
MRI direct
BS in Magnetic Resonance ImagingARRT (MR)
16 months
No
Online courses and in-person courses with clinical internships
Not published
MCPHS (Magnetic Resonance Imaging BS, Accelerated Track) Boston, MA Neighboring state option; fall start; graduates eligible to sit for ARRT registration.
MRI direct
BS in Magnetic Resonance ImagingARRT (MR)
32 months
No
Online courses and in-person courses with clinical internships, year-round format
Not published

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Oct 9, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

The path

How to become an MRI tech in Rhode Island

Five steps, the same in Rhode Island as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some of the in-person programs in the table above do require one.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in Rhode Island hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    Rhode Island licenses radiographers, nuclear medicine technologists and radiation therapists, and lists no separate license for MRI technologists. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in Rhode Island, and which ones are in our clinical network

We are still building our network in Rhode Island. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in Rhode Island that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

Brown Health

Employer, not yet affiliated
  • Rhode Island Hospital Providence, RI

Newport Hospital

Employer, not yet affiliated
  • Newport Hospital Newport, RI

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on October 9, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Growing here · Rhode Island

We are still building our network in Rhode Island. If you apply, the site team maps your area first and tells you what to expect before you commit.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in Rhode Island

The Rhode Island Department of Health licenses radiologic technologists in the categories of radiographer, nuclear medicine technologist, and radiation therapist, plus a supplemental CT category; its licensing page lists no separate license for MRI technologists. The definitions in R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 5-68.1 (Radiologic Technologists) likewise do not mention magnetic resonance imaging.

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

💡

Key Takeaway

Rhode Island licenses radiographers, nuclear medicine technologists and radiation therapists, and lists no separate license for MRI technologists. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in Rhode Island

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $105,060 for MRI technologists in Rhode Island, with about 140 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, Rhode Island radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $85,330.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Where MRI techs work in Rhode Island

Major healthcare employers in Rhode Island include Lifespan (Rhode Island Hospital, Miriam Hospital), Care New England, CharterCARE Health Partners, South County Health, Landmark Medical Center. These systems operate hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, and specialty clinics across the state.

Rhode Island’s compact geography means the entire state functions as a single healthcare market, dominated by Lifespan (the state’s largest health system, affiliated with Brown University’s Warren Alpert Medical School) and Care New England. The state’s proximity to Boston creates both competition for talent and spillover opportunities for technologists willing to commute. Brown University’s medical school and research programs generate demand for MRI techs with research experience. Rhode Island’s high density of healthcare facilities relative to its small population means job mobility is excellent for experienced technologists.


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. One Rhode Island program in the table above, Rhode Island College with Brown University Health School of Medical Imaging (BS in Medical Imaging, MRI concentration), takes students with no imaging credential; its length is listed in the Length column. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a Rhode Island median of $85,330 versus $105,060 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In Rhode Island the harder part is often getting a seat, since campus MRI cohorts are small and most admit once a year. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Yes. Rhode Island College with Brown University Health School of Medical Imaging (BS in Medical Imaging, MRI concentration) and Tesla MR's hybrid certificate both accept students with no prior imaging credential. The post-primary certificates in the table require an existing ARRT, ARDMS, or NMTCB registry, so check the prior X-ray column before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated Rhode Island health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in Rhode Island?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in Rhode Island 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now