MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in South Carolina

7 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option, compared side by side below. One local program and Tesla MR admit you without a prior X-ray credential.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$84K Avg. Salary
0 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition
Already in imaging?

Already working in an imaging department in South Carolina?

X-ray, CT, and nuclear medicine techs, MRI aides, transporters, schedulers, and nurses who work around a scanner do not need a second degree or an X-ray license to move into MRI. The coursework is online, so you keep your job, and clinical hours can happen at a facility you already know.

Train where you work.

If your department has an MRI scanner and will host you, our site team asks them first. Your employer signs a site agreement and names an ARRT or ARMRIT mentor.

How clinicals at your current facility work

Keep your paycheck.

The online phases fit around a hospital schedule. Clinicals are the squeeze, and we show the schedules other hospital employees have used.

MRI school while working full time

Ask your employer to pay.

Some employers cover part of tuition, and we can invoice them directly. Here is what to ask HR before you pay a deposit.

Employer tuition reimbursement
Your options

MRI programs available to South Carolina residents

7 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. Only one of them trains you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Greenville Technical College (Magnetic Resonance Imaging Certificate) Greenville, SC Open only to ARRT-registered technologists, proof of registry required. Starts in August, application deadline May 1 for fall. Program is recognized by ARRT.
MRI after X-ray
Certificate in Applied Science in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (33 credit hours per the college catalog)ARRT (MR) post-primary
Two semesters (nine months)
Yes
Didactic coursework online, clinical education at approved clinical sites (495 contact hours, 15 to 18 hours per week)
Not published
Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College (Magnetic Resonance Imaging Certificate) Orangeburg, SC Requires registration in good standing with ARRT (radiography, sonography, nuclear medicine, or radiation therapy), ARDMS, or NMTCB. Begins in August, accepts a limited number of students.
MRI after X-ray
Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (31 semester hours)ARRT (MR) post-primary
Two semesters
Yes
All didactic courses online, clinical practicum at an approved local site when possible
Not published
Midlands Technical College (Radiologic Technology) Columbia, SC JRCERT accredited, full status for 8 years awarded 03/24/2022. Applications due January 15, 2027, ATI TEAS 7 required, top 26 applicants ranked for interviews.
X-ray first
Associate in Applied Science in Radiologic Technology (74 credit hours)ARRT (R)
Two years (twenty continuous months)
No
In-person classes and labs on the Airport Campus with clinical rotations at affiliated hospitals
Estimated cost $15,244.00, not including fees and equipment (academic year not stated)
Horry-Georgetown Technical College (Radiologic Technology) Myrtle Beach, SC JRCERT accredited, current award 8 years. Limited seats, Phase II applications due January 15. A program cost sheet is linked from the page but no figure appears on the page itself.
X-ray first
Associate in Applied Science in Radiologic Technology (89 credit hours)ARRT (R)
Phase I prerequisites, then Phase II of 6 consecutive semesters beginning in summer
No
In-person classes, labs, and clinical rotations
Not published
AnMed Radiologic Technology Program Anderson, SC States it is the only hospital-based radiography program in South Carolina. JRCERT accredited, current award 8 years. Licensed by the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education.
X-ray first
Certificate in Radiologic Technology (hospital-based)ARRT (R)
Two years
No
In-person, hospital-based
Not published
Forsyth Technical Community College (Magnetic Resonance Imaging AAS) Winston-Salem, NC Out of state for SC residents. Selective admission on GPA, TEAS scores, and prior healthcare experience, no imaging registry listed as a requirement. Accepts 12 students each fall, application deadline mid March. A separate one-year Advanced Placement diploma is also offered.
MRI direct
Associate in Applied Science in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (72 credit hours)ARRT (MR)
Two years
No
Day classes with clinical rotations at medical centers, community hospitals, and outpatient imaging centers
In-state tuition $76.00 per credit hour x 72 credit hours, out-of-state tuition $268.00 per credit hour ($18,760.00) (academic year not stated)
Cabarrus College of Health Sciences (Advanced Specialty Certificate, MRI) Concord, NC Out of state, near Charlotte. Requires an associate degree in an imaging science and ARRT credentials or eligibility in a primary imaging modality. College is SACSCOC accredited.
MRI after X-ray
Advanced Specialty Certificate in MRI (16 to 22 credit hours)ARRT (MR) post-primary
Two semesters
Yes
100 percent online with clinical components scheduled at affiliated sites
Not published

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Oct 31, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

The path

How to become an MRI tech in South Carolina

Five steps, the same in South Carolina as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some of the in-person programs in the table above do require one.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in South Carolina hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    South Carolina's certification law covers ionizing radiation and does not mention MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in South Carolina, and which ones are in our clinical network

We are still building our network in South Carolina. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in South Carolina that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

We have not mapped South Carolina employers yet. Tell us where you live and our site team will do it for your application.

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on October 31, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Growing here · South Carolina

We are still building our network in South Carolina. If you apply, the site team maps your area first and tells you what to expect before you commit.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in South Carolina

South Carolina’s Medical Radiation Health and Safety Act (S.C. Code Title 44, Chapter 74) requires a certificate from the South Carolina Radiation Quality Standards Association for people who use equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on humans. The chapter does not mention magnetic resonance imaging, so no state license specific to MRI technologists appears in the statute.

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

💡

Key Takeaway

South Carolina’s certification law covers ionizing radiation and does not mention MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in South Carolina

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $83,550 for MRI technologists in South Carolina, with about 730 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, South Carolina radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $69,600.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Where MRI techs work in South Carolina

Major healthcare employers in South Carolina include MUSC Health, Prisma Health, Roper St. Francis Healthcare, Tidelands Health, AnMed Health, Bon Secours Mercy Health (SC). These systems operate hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, and specialty clinics across the state.

South Carolina’s MRI market is expanding rapidly alongside significant population growth, particularly in the Charleston and Greenville-Spartanburg corridors. MUSC Health (Medical University of South Carolina) in Charleston serves as the state’s premier academic medical center and a hub for advanced imaging. Prisma Health, the state’s largest private employer, dominates the Upstate and Midlands regions. South Carolina’s warm climate, coastal lifestyle, and growing technology sector make it an increasingly popular relocation destination. The state’s military installations, including Joint Base Charleston and Shaw Air Force Base, add federal imaging opportunities.


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. Every South Carolina MRI program we verified asks for an existing imaging registry first, so the local route starts with X-ray. The nearest campus option we found is Forsyth Technical Community College (Magnetic Resonance Imaging AAS) in Winston-Salem, NC. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a South Carolina median of $69,600 versus $83,550 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In South Carolina the harder part is often the entry requirement, since every MRI program we verified in the state asks for an existing imaging registry first. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Not through a South Carolina campus program that we could verify: each MRI program in the state asks for an existing ARRT, ARDMS, or NMTCB registry, so the local route is X-ray first. The nearest campus option we found is Forsyth Technical Community College (Magnetic Resonance Imaging AAS) in Winston-Salem, NC. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate accepts students with no prior imaging credential and places clinicals at affiliated South Carolina sites. Check the prior X-ray column in the table above before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated South Carolina health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in South Carolina?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in South Carolina 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now