MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in Kansas

8 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option, compared side by side below. None of the local programs admit you without a prior X-ray credential; Tesla MR does.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$83K Avg. Salary
17 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition
Already in imaging?

Already working in an imaging department in Kansas?

X-ray, CT, and nuclear medicine techs, MRI aides, transporters, schedulers, and nurses who work around a scanner do not need a second degree or an X-ray license to move into MRI. The coursework is online, so you keep your job, and clinical hours can happen at a facility you already know.

Train where you work.

If your department has an MRI scanner and will host you, our site team asks them first. Your employer signs a site agreement and names an ARRT or ARMRIT mentor.

How clinicals at your current facility work

Keep your paycheck.

The online phases fit around a hospital schedule. Clinicals are the squeeze, and we show the schedules other hospital employees have used.

MRI school while working full time

Ask your employer to pay.

Some employers cover part of tuition, and we can invoice them directly. Here is what to ask HR before you pay a deposit.

Employer tuition reimbursement
Your options

MRI programs available to Kansas residents

8 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. None of them train you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential; the local route is X-ray first, then MRI. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Washburn University (Magnetic Resonance Imaging certificate) Topeka, KS Requires current registration in radiography, radiation therapy, sonography or nuclear medicine, or enrollment in an applicable imaging program with ARRT registration status. Applications accepted through May 31 for a fall start; no more than 20 students accepted each fall.
MRI after X-ray
Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (22 credit hours)ARRT (MR) post-primary
Two semesters full time; school states 90% of students complete the program in one year
Yes
All courses online; clinical education at a facility near the student, 24 hours per week during fall and spring semesters
Not published
Fort Hays State University (Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging) Hays, KS Requires current ARRT registration and completion of an accredited radiologic technology program. Fall or spring start. Page says it prepares for advanced MRI certification exams without naming the registry.
MRI after X-ray
Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) (16 credit hours)Not stated
Can be completed in two semesters
Yes
Fully online
Approximately $4,134.75 (online) per semester, based on 15 credit hours at $275.65 per credit hour; academic year not stated on the page, tuition and fees subject to change
Washburn University (Radiologic Technology) Topeka, KS JRCERT accredited (8-year status). Application deadline Feb. 1 for a fall start; maximum class size of 33; 12 college credit hours required before the deadline. Page says courses are charged at the traditional undergraduate rate.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic Technology (68 credit hours)ARRT (R)
2 years
No
Majority of coursework and labs in person, with hybrid instruction for clinical education coursework
Not published
Fort Hays State University (Radiologic Technology) Hays, KS JRCERT accredited (8-year award in 2023). Application deadline January 31; program starts in June. Seats limited by clinical availability.
X-ray first
Associate of Science in Radiologic TechnologyARRT (R)
2 years (6 semesters)
No
3 semesters of on-campus didactic coursework followed by clinical rotations in year two
Not published
Hutchinson Community College (Radiologic Technology) Hutchinson, KS JRCERT accredited (8-year award). Applications accepted December 15 to May 15 for the class starting the following August; limited enrollment; ATI TEAS minimum score of 62 required.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic TechnologyARRT (R)
Two years (6 semesters)
No
In-person coursework; clinical training in the final 3 semesters, 8 hours per day Monday through Friday, 36 to 40 hours per week
Not published
Newman University (Radiologic Technology) Wichita, KS JRCERT accredited (8 years, next scheduled review Spring 2030). Deadline and start term not stated on the page fetched.
X-ray first
Associate degree in Radiologic TechnologyARRT (R)
Twenty-two months
No
Not stated
Not published
Labette Community College (Radiography) Parsons, KS JRCERT accredited (8-year award granted in 2023). Application deadline March 24, 2027; program starts each June.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic TechnologyARRT (R)
23 months
No
In-person classroom Monday through Thursday the first summer, then clinical education two 10-hour days per week starting the first fall
Approximately $16,300 to $16,500 in-state tuition and fees for the 23-month curriculum, approximately $17,600 to $17,900 out of state; academic year not stated on the page
Cleveland University-Kansas City (Radiologic Technology) Overland Park, KS JRCERT accredited (8-year award). Starts twice yearly; seats limited by clinical availability.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic TechnologyARRT (R)
2 years (24 months)
No
Hybrid: eight-week evening professional courses on campus, general education typically online, clinical training at affiliated facilities in the Kansas City metro
Not published

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Oct 9, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

The path

How to become an MRI tech in Kansas

Five steps, the same in Kansas as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some of the in-person programs in the table above do require one.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in Kansas hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    Kansas licenses radiologic technologists, and state law says radiologic technology does not include MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in Kansas, and which ones are in our clinical network

Tesla MR has 17 affiliated clinical sites in Kansas. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in Kansas that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

The University of Kansas Health System

Affiliated site
  • Bell Hospital Tower Kansas City, KS
  • Cambridge Tower A Kansas City, KS
  • Indian Creek Campus Overland Park, KS
  • KU MedWest Shawnee, KS
  • Medical Pavilion Kansas City, KS
  • State Line 47 Westwood, KS
  • +2 more locations

Ascension Via Christi

Affiliated site
  • Founders' Circle Wichita Wichita, KS
  • Manhattan Manhattan, KS
  • Murdock Wichita Wichita, KS
  • St. Francis Wichita Wichita, KS
  • St. Joseph Wichita Wichita, KS
  • St. Teresa Wichita Wichita, KS

Akumin

Affiliated site
  • Wichita Wichita, KS

HCA Healthcare

Affiliated site
  • Wesley Medical Center KS, KS

The University Of Kansas Medical Center

Affiliated site
  • The University Of Kansas Medical Center Kansas City, KS

AdventHealth

Employer, not yet affiliated
  • Centra Care Olathe Olathe, KS
  • Centra Care Overland Park Overland Park, KS
  • Centra Care Shawnee Mission Shawnee, KS
  • Ottawa Ottawa, KS
  • Shawnee Mission Merriam, KS
  • Shawnee Mission Medical Group Primary Care Merriam, KS
  • +2 more locations

Mercy

Employer, not yet affiliated
  • Mercy Clinic Imaging Services - Galena Galena, KS
  • Mercy Hospital Columbus Columbus, KS
  • Mercy Hospital Pittsburg Pittsburg, KS
  • Mercy Specialty Hospital Southeast Kansas Galena, KS

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on October 9, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Established network · Kansas

We have 17 affiliated sites in Kansas. Most students here are placed within that network, and the site team adds facilities as students need them.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in Kansas

Kansas licenses radiologic technologists (radiographers, radiation therapists and nuclear medicine technologists) through the Board of Healing Arts, but K.S.A. 65-7302 defines radiologic technology as the use of ionizing radiation and states that it does not include magnetic resonance imaging. No state license specific to MRI technologists was found in the Radiologic Technologists Practice Act.

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

💡

Key Takeaway

Kansas licenses radiologic technologists, and state law says radiologic technology does not include MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in Kansas

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $82,670 for MRI technologists in Kansas, with about 330 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, Kansas radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $76,070.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Where MRI techs work in Kansas

Major healthcare employers in Kansas include University of Kansas Health System, Ascension Via Christi, Stormont Vail Health, AdventHealth Kansas, HCA Midwest Health. These systems operate hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, and specialty clinics across the state.

Kansas’s MRI market is split between the Kansas City metro area (shared with Missouri) and the rest of the state. The University of Kansas Health System and HCA Midwest Health drive demand in the KC metro, while Wichita, the state’s largest city, relies on Ascension Via Christi and Wesley Medical Center. Rural western Kansas faces critical healthcare workforce shortages, and facilities in those areas frequently turn to travel technologists or offer substantial relocation incentives to fill MRI positions.


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. Every Kansas MRI program we verified asks for an existing imaging registry first, so the local route starts with X-ray. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a Kansas median of $76,070 versus $82,670 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In Kansas the harder part is often the entry requirement, since every MRI program we verified in the state asks for an existing imaging registry first. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Not through a Kansas campus program that we could verify: each MRI program in the state asks for an existing ARRT, ARDMS, or NMTCB registry, so the local route is X-ray first. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate accepts students with no prior imaging credential and places clinicals at affiliated Kansas sites. Check the prior X-ray column in the table above before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated Kansas health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in Kansas?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in Kansas 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now