MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in Nebraska

Tesla MR's hybrid MRI program takes 12 to 18 months and needs no prior imaging credential: coursework is online, and our site team arranges your clinical training. Every other program a Nebraska resident can attend is compared below.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$83K Avg. Salary
0 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition

Program at a glance

  • 12-18 month program
  • No prerequisites: a high school diploma or GED
  • 100% online coursework
  • Our site team handles clinical placement
  • Eligible to sit the ARMRIT exam on completion

Start your MRI career in Nebraska

No application fee. Rolling admissions year-round.

View Program Details Or talk to an advisor
Your options

MRI programs available to Nebraska residents

7 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. None of them train you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential; the local route is X-ray first, then MRI. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Clarkson College (Magnetic Resonance Imaging Certificate) Omaha, NE Applicants must be ARRT-registered technologists or current radiography students. Rolling admission with spring, summer and fall starts.
MRI after X-ray
Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (12 semester hours)ARRT (MR) post-primary
2 to 4 semesters
Yes
All classes available 100% online, cross-sectional classes offered online or hybrid; clinical externship is optional
$691 per credit hour (2026-27), plus $150 enrollment fee for first-time students
Nebraska Methodist College (MRI Technologist Certificate) Omaha, NE Requires ARRT (R) certification and a minimum 2.5 cumulative GPA. Selective admission, rolling deadline, August start. College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
MRI after X-ray
MRI Technologist Certificate (12 credit hours)ARRT (MR) post-primary
As little as one semester
Yes
Online, with coursework and clinical experiences
$623 per credit hour (academic year not stated on the page)
Southeast Community College (Radiologic Technology) Lincoln, NE JRCERT accredited. Fall start. Page lists MRI technologist as a later step requiring additional education and credentialing.
X-ray first
AAS in Radiologic Technology (68.5 credit hours)ARRT (R)
4 terms, full-time
No
In-person classes and clinicals in Lincoln, or online classes with clinicals at pre-approved hospital sites outside Lincoln
Estimated A.A.S. costs: $8,700 tuition, $965 supplies and fees, $2,115 books, $11,780 total (academic year not stated on the page)
University of Nebraska Medical Center (Radiography) Omaha, NE (also Columbus, Kearney, Norfolk and North Platte) JRCERT accredited, current award 8 years. Fall semester begins in August. Cost figures are from https://www.unmc.edu/student-success/financial-aid/coa-sheets/rdx_26_27.html. UNMC's program list shows no MRI program.
X-ray first
Radiography program within the Bachelor of Science in Medical Imaging and Therapeutic SciencesARRT (R)
21 months (5 semesters)
No
Full-time, with lectures, laboratory and supervised clinical experiences; didactic courses include online components
2026-2027 cost of attendance sheet: year 1 tuition $15,690.00 plus $6,720.00 fees; year 2 tuition $12,840.00 plus $6,250.00 fees (same for residents and nonresidents)
Mary Lanning Healthcare School of Radiologic Technology Hastings, NE Applications accepted October 1 to January 15. Requires at least 30 college credits and a 3.0 GPA. August start. Clinical sites include Hastings, Kearney and Grand Island. Tuition from https://www.marylanning.org/education/school-of-rad-tech/tuition-housing.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science Degree (hospital-based program)ARRT (R)
24 months
No
In-person, approximately 40 hours a week in classroom and clinical settings
2026-2028: $14,505.00 total tuition ($7,252.50 per year), $150 registration fee, $850 fees, $1,700 textbooks
Regional West Medical Center School of Radiologic Technology Scottsbluff, NE JRCERT accredited, current award 8 years. Application due the first business day of February. Requires 35 to 38 prerequisite college credit hours and a 2.5 GPA. Co-enrollment available with Chadron State College or University of Nebraska Kearney. Cost from https://www.rwhs.org/careers/school-radiologic-technology/tuition-refunds-financial-aid.
X-ray first
Not stated (hospital-based radiographer program)ARRT (R)
Two years
No
In-person, hospital-based with clinical experience
2025-26: estimated $23,318.00 per year
St. Luke's College (Advanced Radiology Specialties, MRI internship) Sioux City, IA Neighboring-state option across the river from South Sioux City, NE. Open to licensed, registered radiologic technologists. Site states the college plans to join Morningside University, with accreditor approval underway.
MRI after X-ray
Specialty certification internship program in MRINot stated
Not stated
Yes
Not stated
Not published

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Oct 31, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

The path

How to become an MRI tech in Nebraska

Five steps, the same in Nebraska as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some of the in-person programs in the table above do require one.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in Nebraska hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    Nebraska licenses medical radiographers, and the state lists no license type for MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in Nebraska, and which ones are in our clinical network

We are still building our network in Nebraska. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in Nebraska that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

We have not mapped Nebraska employers yet. Tell us where you live and our site team will do it for your application.

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on October 31, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Growing here · Nebraska

We are still building our network in Nebraska. If you apply, the site team maps your area first and tells you what to expect before you commit.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in Nebraska

Nebraska licenses medical radiographers and limited radiographers under the Medical Radiography Practice Act, which defines medical radiography as the application of radiation to humans for diagnostic purposes. The Nebraska DHHS licensure page lists no license type for MRI.

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

đź’ˇ

Key Takeaway

Nebraska licenses medical radiographers, and the state lists no license type for MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in Nebraska

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $82,710 for MRI technologists in Nebraska, with about 290 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, Nebraska radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $72,860.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Where MRI techs work in Nebraska

Major healthcare employers in Nebraska include Nebraska Medicine, CHI Health, Bryan Health, Methodist Health System, Regional West Medical Center. These systems operate hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, and specialty clinics across the state.

Nebraska’s MRI job market is concentrated in the Omaha-Lincoln corridor, where Nebraska Medicine (the academic health system affiliated with the University of Nebraska Medical Center) and CHI Health drive most of the demand. UNMC’s global reputation in infectious disease and transplant medicine creates demand for MRI techs with specialized experience. Western Nebraska’s critical access hospitals face persistent staffing challenges, and facilities like Regional West Medical Center in Scottsbluff often offer premium incentive packages to attract imaging professionals to rural practice settings.


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. Every Nebraska MRI program we verified asks for an existing imaging registry first, so the local route starts with X-ray. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a Nebraska median of $72,860 versus $82,710 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In Nebraska the harder part is often the entry requirement, since every MRI program we verified in the state asks for an existing imaging registry first. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Not through a Nebraska campus program that we could verify: each MRI program in the state asks for an existing ARRT, ARDMS, or NMTCB registry, so the local route is X-ray first. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate accepts students with no prior imaging credential and places clinicals at affiliated Nebraska sites. Check the prior X-ray column in the table above before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated Nebraska health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in Nebraska?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in Nebraska 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now