MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in Maine

Tesla MR's hybrid MRI program takes 12 to 18 months and needs no prior imaging credential: coursework is online, and our site team arranges your clinical training. Every other program a Maine resident can attend is compared below.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$94K Avg. Salary
0 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition
Already in imaging?

Already working in an imaging department in Maine?

X-ray, CT, and nuclear medicine techs, MRI aides, transporters, schedulers, and nurses who work around a scanner do not need a second degree or an X-ray license to move into MRI. The coursework is online, so you keep your job, and clinical hours can happen at a facility you already know.

Train where you work.

If your department has an MRI scanner and will host you, our site team asks them first. Your employer signs a site agreement and names an ARRT or ARMRIT mentor.

How clinicals at your current facility work

Keep your paycheck.

The online phases fit around a hospital schedule. Clinicals are the squeeze, and we show the schedules other hospital employees have used.

MRI school while working full time

Ask your employer to pay.

Some employers cover part of tuition, and we can invoice them directly. Here is what to ask HR before you pay a deposit.

Employer tuition reimbursement

Program at a glance

  • 12-18 month program
  • No prerequisites: a high school diploma or GED
  • 100% online coursework
  • Our site team handles clinical placement
  • Eligible to sit the ARMRIT exam on completion

Start your MRI career in Maine

No application fee. Rolling admissions year-round.

View Program Details Or talk to an advisor
Your options

MRI programs available to Maine residents

5 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. None of them train you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential; the local route is X-ray first, then MRI. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Southern Maine Community College (Radiography) South Portland, ME JRCERT accredited (8-year award). Page lists MRI only as a later employment specialty; the college lists no MRI certificate. Seats and deadline not stated.
X-ray first
Associate degree in Radiography (80 credit hours)ARRT (R)
4.5 semesters (full-time estimate)
No
In-person didactic and clinical coursework, clinical affiliations at hospitals and orthopedic offices in southern Maine
School estimate for 1 year full-time (15 credits per semester): In-State Tuition $2,880.00, Fees $1,061.00, Books and Supplies $1,400.00; academic year not stated on the page
Eastern Maine Community College (Medical Radiography) Bangor, ME JRCERT accredited (8-year award). MRI is covered only as an overview topic. Cost worksheet PDF linked from the program page (revised 8/20/24). Seats and deadline not stated.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Medical RadiographyARRT (R)
Two years
No
In-person classroom instruction with clinical experience at Bangor-area hospitals and externship sites statewide
In-state tuition $96.00 per credit hour plus $29.00 comprehensive fee and $13.00 student services fee per credit hour, 48 credits year 1 and 31 credits year 2, per the school's FY 2024-2025 Medical Radiography tuition and fees worksheet
Kennebec Valley Community College (Radiologic Technology) Fairfield, ME JRCERT accredited (8-year award). Page reports 15 students enrolled and 15 graduated in 2024. The college lists no MRI program.
X-ray first
Associate in Science in Radiologic TechnologyARRT (R)
Not stated
No
In-person classroom and clinical practicum (8-hour shifts) at 15 clinical sites in Maine
Not published on the program page; college tuition page states $96 per credit hour for Maine residents (shown with 2024-2025 cost of attendance)
Maine College of Health Professions (Radiologic Technology) Lewiston, ME JRCERT accredited (8-year award). College offers advanced certificates in CT, mammography, and sonography but lists no MRI certificate. Cost figure from https://www.mchp.edu/tuition-fees/.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic Technology (76 credit hours)ARRT (R)
Not stated
No
In-person classroom lectures, campus laboratory work, and clinical rotations in medical imaging departments
Total estimated cost $40,725 including tuition and fees, excluding books and uniforms (2025-2026 fee schedule, per the college tuition page)
NHTI, Concord's Community College (Radiologic Technology) Concord, NH Neighboring-state option for southern Maine residents. JRCERT accredited (5-year award). Summer start; application deadline stated as December 15, 2025 for the summer 2026 semester.
X-ray first
Associate of Science in Radiologic Technology (79 credits)ARRT (R)
2 years
No
In-person lecture, laboratory, and clinical rotations in hospitals
Not published

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Oct 31, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

The path

How to become an MRI tech in Maine

Five steps, the same in Maine as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some of the in-person programs in the table above do require one.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in Maine hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    Maine does not require a license for technologists who only perform MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in Maine, and which ones are in our clinical network

We are still building our network in Maine. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in Maine that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

We have not mapped Maine employers yet. Tell us where you live and our site team will do it for your application.

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on October 31, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Growing here · Maine

We are still building our network in Maine. If you apply, the site team maps your area first and tells you what to expect before you commit.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in Maine

Maine does not require a state license for technologists who only perform MRI. The Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners licenses radiographers, radiation therapists, and nuclear medicine technologists, and its licensing page states that individuals only providing MRIs do not need a license from the Board.

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

💡

Key Takeaway

Maine does not require a license for technologists who only perform MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in Maine

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $94,140 for MRI technologists in Maine, with about 210 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, Maine radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $80,080.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Where MRI techs work in Maine

Major healthcare employers in Maine include MaineHealth, Northern Light Health, Central Maine Healthcare, MaineGeneral Health, Pen Bay Medical Center. These systems operate hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, and specialty clinics across the state.

Maine’s MRI market is shaped by its rural geography and aging population, Maine consistently ranks among the oldest states by median age in the nation, driving significant imaging demand. MaineHealth (which includes Maine Medical Center in Portland) and Northern Light Health dominate the market across the state. Critical access hospitals in northern and western Maine frequently struggle to staff MRI positions and rely heavily on travel technologists. The state’s quality of life and outdoor recreation appeal help attract candidates who prioritize lifestyle over maximum salary.


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. We could not verify an MRI-specific campus program in Maine, so the local route starts with an X-ray degree. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a Maine median of $80,080 versus $94,140 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In Maine the harder part is often finding a program at all, since we could not verify an MRI-specific campus program in the state. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Not through a Maine campus program that we could verify; the in-state programs in the table are X-ray degrees. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate accepts students with no prior imaging credential and places clinicals at affiliated Maine sites. Check the prior X-ray column in the table above before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated Maine health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in Maine?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in Maine 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now