MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in Idaho

8 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option, compared side by side below. 2 local programs and Tesla MR admit you without a prior X-ray credential.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$102K Avg. Salary
0 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition
Your options

MRI programs available to Idaho residents

8 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. 2 of them train you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Boise State University (BS in Radiologic Sciences, Magnetic Resonance Imaging Emphasis, on campus) Boise, ID Described as open to entry level students; application deadline March 1, classes begin in the fall semester in late August; selection page states preference is given to Radiologic Technologists; page refers to the advanced level MRI registry examination without naming the registry.
MRI direct
Bachelor of Science in Radiologic Sciences, Magnetic Resonance Imaging EmphasisNot stated
MRI course sequence is four semesters, plus prerequisite and general education courses
No
On campus, integrated clinical and classroom education
Tuition not published on program page; program cost page lists an $800 professional fee per semester for clinically based courses and books at approximately $450 per semester (no academic year stated)
Boise State University Online (BS in Advanced Medical Imaging, Magnetic Resonance Imaging Discipline) Boise, ID Requires a minimum of an associate degree from an accredited institution and a 2.7 GPA; no field restriction or ARRT credential stated; students must find and secure their own clinical site before the March 1 program application deadline.
MRI direct
Bachelor of Science in Advanced Medical Imaging, Magnetic Resonance Imaging Discipline (minimum 120 credits)ARRT (MR)
Not stated
No
100% online, asynchronous coursework with clinicals completed in the student's local area
$445 per credit for the 2026-27 academic year; $800 discipline year professional fee; $50 application fee
Boise State University (Magnetic Resonance Imaging Academic Certificate) Boise, ID For associate and bachelor prepared radiographers; requires at least an associate degree in radiology and ARRT credentials; competitive selection.
MRI after X-ray
Academic Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (credits not stated on page)Not stated
Not stated
Yes
Not stated
Not published
Weber State University (BS in Advanced Radiologic Sciences, MRI emphasis) Ogden, UT Neighboring state option for southeast Idaho; standard MRI emphasis requires an associate degree or higher plus ARRT certification; page also lists a separate MRI Primary Pathway option requiring patient care experience and Limited Practical Technologist certification.
MRI after X-ray
Bachelor of Science in Advanced Radiologic Sciences with MRI emphasisARRT (MR) post-primary
Three straight semesters
Yes
Campus and regional programs; emphases require travel once per month to the Ogden campus for classes
Not published
Idaho State University (BS in Radiographic Science) Pocatello, ID JRCERT accredited, 8 year award; fall start; cohorts average 21 to 24 students selected each year; cost figures from https://www.isu.edu/radiography/rs-cost/.
X-ray first
Bachelor of Science in Radiographic ScienceARRT (R)
5 semesters
No
Classroom plus clinical, over 1,500 hours of clinical training
$4,457.00 per semester full-time, $454.00 per credit part-time, listed as current cost with no academic year stated; professional fee and malpractice insurance fee are additional
College of Southern Idaho (Radiologic Technology AAS) Twin Falls, ID JRCERT accredited, 8 year award; June 1 application deadline, fall start; capacity depends on clinical affiliate space; minimum 2.8 GPA and ATI TEAS required.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic TechnologyARRT (R)
5 semesters (22 months)
No
On campus with clinical components
Approximately $2,054 in program-specific expenses (books, uniforms, lab fees, exam fee, background check), tuition not included; no academic year stated
North Idaho College (Radiography Technology AAS) Coeur d'Alene, ID JRCERT accredited; competitive entry with ten students admitted annually; applications reviewed in spring for an August start; prerequisites require B-/2.7 or higher.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Radiography TechnologyARRT (R)
Not stated
No
Didactic and clinical education
Not published
Lewis-Clark State College (Radiographic Science AS) Lewiston, ID AS program is JRCERT accredited per https://www.lcsc.edu/radiography; competitive program with a separate formal application; deadline and seats not stated on the pages fetched.
X-ray first
Associate of Science in Radiographic Science (98 credits); online BS option (120 credits)ARRT (R)
One year of preprofessional courses and two years of professional courses for the AS
No
Associate program based in Lewiston; bachelor's completion offered online
Not published

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Oct 31, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

The path

How to become an MRI tech in Idaho

Five steps, the same in Idaho as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some of the in-person programs in the table above do require one.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in Idaho hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    Idaho has no state licensing board for radiologic or MRI technologists. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in Idaho, and which ones are in our clinical network

We are still building our network in Idaho. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in Idaho that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

We have not mapped Idaho employers yet. Tell us where you live and our site team will do it for your application.

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on October 31, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Growing here · Idaho

We are still building our network in Idaho. If you apply, the site team maps your area first and tells you what to expect before you commit.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in Idaho

Idaho’s Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses lists no licensing board for radiologic technologists or MRI technologists among its health professions boards. The College of Southern Idaho’s program page also states there is currently no Idaho state licensure requirement for radiologic technologists.

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

💡

Key Takeaway

Idaho has no state licensing board for radiologic or MRI technologists. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in Idaho

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $101,680 for MRI technologists in Idaho, with about 170 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, Idaho radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $80,080.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Where MRI techs work in Idaho

Major healthcare employers in Idaho include St. Luke’s Health System, Saint Alphonsus Health System (Trinity Health), Kootenai Health, Eastern Idaho Regional Medical Center, Primary Health Medical Group. These systems operate hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, and specialty clinics across the state.

Idaho is one of the fastest-growing states in the nation, and its healthcare infrastructure is racing to keep up with rapid population influx, particularly in the Boise metro area. St. Luke’s and Saint Alphonsus dominate the Treasure Valley market and are both in aggressive expansion modes with new campus openings. The state’s outdoor recreation lifestyle and relatively affordable cost of living (compared to Pacific Northwest neighbors) make it increasingly attractive for healthcare professionals relocating from higher-cost states like Washington and California.


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. 2 of the Idaho programs in the table above take students with no imaging credential; their lengths are listed in the Length column. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a Idaho median of $80,080 versus $101,680 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In Idaho the harder part is often getting a seat, since campus MRI cohorts are small and most admit once a year. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Yes. Boise State University (BS in Radiologic Sciences, Magnetic Resonance Imaging Emphasis, on campus) and Tesla MR's hybrid certificate both accept students with no prior imaging credential. The post-primary certificates in the table require an existing ARRT, ARDMS, or NMTCB registry, so check the prior X-ray column before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated Idaho health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in Idaho?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in Idaho 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now