MRI Technologist Training

MRI Tech Programs in Nevada

8 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option, compared side by side below. One local program and Tesla MR admit you without a prior X-ray credential.

Comparing programs nationally? See MRI tech school formats, costs, and certification paths. Checking accreditation? See every accredited MRI tech certification program.

MRI technologist student training at a clinical site
$98K Avg. Salary
0 Affiliated Sites
12-18 mo Program Length
Starting at $11,500 Tuition
Your options

MRI programs available to Nevada residents

8 in-person or regional programs plus Tesla MR's hybrid option. Only one of them trains you in MRI directly without a prior X-ray credential. Facts come from each school's published pages. Confirm with the school before you apply.

Published cost is what each school states on its own site. Some schools publish tuition only; others include fees, books, or uniforms; public colleges often distinguish in-district from out-of-district rates. Each row says which. For the national list with accreditor and entry requirement for every program, see accredited MRI tech certification programs.

Program Path Credential Length Prior X-ray? Format Published cost
Tesla MR Online coursework, clinicals near you
MRI direct
Certificate (ARMRIT exam eligibility)ARMRIT
12 to 18 months
No
Hybrid: online lectures, in-person clinicals
$11,500 to $13,400 by payment plan
Truckee Meadows Community College (MRI Skills Certificate, Primary Pathway) Reno, NV Primary pathway does not require ARRT certification but requires an associate degree or higher, documented clinical hours or hands-on patient care employment, listed prerequisite courses, and an interview. Admission limited by clinical site availability. The TMCC catalog page lists ARRT registration as a prerequisite, which conflicts with the program page.
MRI direct
Skills Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technology (17 to 20 units)ARRT (MR)
2 semesters per the catalog recommended schedule, plus optional clinical internship (AMI 290)
No
Didactic courses entirely online; optional TMCC clinical internship at affiliated facilities in the Reno/Sparks/Carson area
Estimated overall costs (without health insurance) $3,968, no academic year stated; tuition and fees per TMCC College Catalog
Truckee Meadows Community College (MRI Skills Certificate, Post-Primary Pathway) Reno, NV Requires ARRT certification (or equivalent) in radiography, radiation therapy, nuclear medicine or sonography with an associate degree or higher. Catalog states the certificate is not eligible for financial aid at this time. Former TMCC imaging graduates ranked first in selection.
MRI after X-ray
Skills Certificate in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technology (17 to 20 units)ARRT (MR) post-primary
2 semesters per the catalog recommended schedule, plus optional clinical internship (AMI 290)
Yes
Didactic courses entirely online; clinical competencies through cross-training at the student's employer or a TMCC clinical internship
Estimated overall costs (without health insurance) $3,968, no academic year stated; tuition and fees per TMCC College Catalog
University of Nevada, Las Vegas (Post-Primary Education, Magnetic Resonance track) Las Vegas, NV Open to any technologist registered in an ARRT supported primary modality. Page states the education is approved by the ARRT for post-primary structured education.
MRI after X-ray
Post-primary coursework, not a separate degree: CMI 330 (3 credits), CMI 332 (3 credits), CMI 490 clinics (3 credits, repeatable), CMI 485 (1 credit); may be taken as a non-degree seeking student or applied toward a BSARRT (MR) post-primary
Not stated; CMI 490 may be repeated each semester until clinical competency is obtained
Yes
Not stated; clinical experience may be completed at the student's place of employment, clinical placement is not guaranteed
Not published
University of Nevada, Las Vegas (BS in Comprehensive Medical Imaging, Radiography Track) Las Vegas, NV JRCERT accredited (8 year award). Admits up to 26 students per year. Application deadline is the first business day in February for a fall start. The degree also offers coursework in CT, MRI and ultrasound.
X-ray first
B.S. in Comprehensive Medical Imaging: Radiography TrackARRT (R)
Not stated on the program page; bachelor's degree with 4-year plans of study published
No
Didactic and clinical education, in person
Not published
Truckee Meadows Community College (Radiologic Technology AAS) Reno, NV Begins each fall semester. Limited to 20 to 24 students, selected annually after June 15 by admission points. Requires CNA training or approved alternative and HESI entrance exam. JRCERT accredited.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic TechnologyARRT (R)
21 months once selected, including 1,680 clinical hours
No
In-person with clinical education at radiology departments in Reno, Sparks and Carson City
Estimated approximate overall costs (without insurance) $13,987, no academic year stated
Great Basin College (AS in Radiologic Sciences) Elko, NV JRCERT accredited (8 year cycle). Limited admission, openings depend on clinical placements. Applications due May 1 each year. Elko and Pahrump track options.
X-ray first
Associate of Science in Radiologic SciencesARRT (R)
Two years (five semesters), with over 1400 hours of clinical experience
No
In-person didactic and lab on the Elko campus, or Pahrump track via interactive video with weekly local lab; clinical rotations in semesters 3 to 5, at least one outside the home location
Tuition (in state) $6,450 not including prerequisites or general education, plus $75 per credit differential fee for RAD courses; estimated, no academic year stated
Pima Medical Institute, Las Vegas (Radiography) Las Vegas, NV Las Vegas campus listed among offering campuses; page links JRCERT program effectiveness data for Las Vegas. Program listed as JRCERT accredited in the JRCERT program search.
X-ray first
Associate Degree in RadiographyARRT (R)
Approximately 24 months (90 weeks; 2,423 program hours at Las Vegas)
No
On-ground and hybrid delivery, as stated
Not published
Northwest Career College (Radiography) Las Vegas, NV JRCERT accredited (3 year award). Up to 20 students may be selected per designated start term.
X-ray first
Associate of Applied Science in RadiographyARRT (R)
18 months (6 terms)
No
Hybrid: online learning, on-campus lab training and clinical rotations
Total program cost $45,000.00; $7,500.00 per term (terms 1 to 6); no academic year stated

Verified against each program's own website between Sep 18, 2026 and Oct 23, 2026. Tuition, length, and admission rules change; the school's page is the authority. Tesla MR is not a degree-granting institution and does not participate in federal financial aid. See accreditation. The schools named here are not affiliated with Tesla MR and do not endorse it; their names belong to their owners. Spot an error? Email info@teslamr.com and we will review it within 10 business days.

The path

How to become an MRI tech in Nevada

Five steps, the same in Nevada as anywhere else. Where you do step four is what changes by city.

  1. Confirm you are eligible

    A high school diploma or GED is the floor. You do not need a prior X-ray, radiography, or healthcare credential for the ARMRIT route. Some of the in-person programs in the table above do require one.

  2. Pick the credential you are aiming for

    Employers in Nevada hire both ARRT (MR) and ARMRIT technologists. ARRT usually means a two-year degree or a prior radiography license. ARMRIT is the certificate route for career changers.

  3. Choose a program format that fits your life

    Full-time campus programs are faster if you can stop working. Hybrid programs put the coursework online and the clinical hours at a facility near you, which is how most working adults finish.

  4. Complete supervised clinical hours

    Every path ends at a scanner. Clinical training is the part that depends on local capacity, so ask any program how placement works before you enroll. Ours is explained below.

  5. Pass the registry exam and get hired

    Nevada licenses radiologic imaging that uses ionizing radiation, and its statute does not mention MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification. Once certified, you can apply to the hospital systems and imaging groups listed further down this page.

Where you would train and work

MRI employers in Nevada, and which ones are in our clinical network

We are still building our network in Nevada. An affiliated site is a facility in our clinical network where students can be placed. The others are places MRI techs work in Nevada that we have not affiliated with yet.

Affiliated site Employer, not yet affiliated

We have not mapped Nevada employers yet. Tell us where you live and our site team will do it for your application.

Pulled from Tesla MR's site database on October 23, 2026. Affiliations are added and change over time; the assessment you receive during admissions is the one that applies to you.

Clinical placement

How clinical placement works

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to find or negotiate your own clinical site. We look for a facility within a reasonable commute of your home and widen the search only if we need to.

Timing depends on facilities having capacity when you reach clinicals. If your area is thin, we tell you during admissions, not after you enroll, and we talk through the options with you.

Growing here · Nevada

We are still building our network in Nevada. If you apply, the site team maps your area first and tells you what to expect before you commit.

  1. We look at your area during admissions

    If you already have a facility in mind, maybe where you work, we reach out and see whether you can train there. If not, our site team maps the hospitals and imaging centers near your home and starts the conversation.

  2. You get a straight answer before you enroll

    Clinicals are still months away at this point, so a site's answer is usually "we expect so, check back closer to the date." We tell you what we heard and what it means for your timeline.

  3. You start the coursework while the site work continues

    Most students begin Phase I and Phase II before a specific facility is named. That is normal, and the site team keeps working your area in the background.

  4. Your site is confirmed as clinicals approach

    Once clinicals are weeks away rather than months, facilities can commit to dates. We work to have your placement set before Phase III begins. Which facility and which shift depends on who has capacity at that time.

MRI technologist licensing in Nevada

Nevada’s NRS Chapter 653 requires a state license to engage in radiologic imaging, and NRS 653.390 defines radiologic imaging as the use of ionizing radiation. The chapter does not mention magnetic resonance imaging, so it sets out no separate state license for MRI technologists.

Employers set the credential requirement. Most postings ask for ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT, the two national MRI certifications, and both are valid in all 50 states.

💡

Key Takeaway

Nevada licenses radiologic imaging that uses ionizing radiation, and its statute does not mention MRI. Employers require ARRT (MR) or ARMRIT certification.

MRI technologist salary in Nevada

BLS reports a May 2025 median of $98,260 for MRI technologists in Nevada, with about 340 employed statewide (BLS OEWS, state estimates). The national median is $95,480. For comparison, Nevada radiologic technologists, which includes X-ray and CT, have a median of $82,910.

Entry-level pay sits below the median. Shift differentials, specialty work such as cardiac or breast MRI, and 3 to 5 years of experience push experienced technologists above it. See the MRI technologist salary guide and salary by state for the full breakdown.

Where MRI techs work in Nevada

Major healthcare employers in Nevada include Sunrise Health System (HCA), CommonSpirit Health (Dignity Health), Renown Health, Valley Health System (UHS), University Medical Center of Southern Nevada. These systems operate hospitals, outpatient imaging centers, and specialty clinics across the state.

Nevada’s MRI market is dominated by the Las Vegas metro area, one of the fastest-growing cities in the country, where rapid population growth and a large tourism industry create sustained demand for imaging services. Nevada has no state income tax, which boosts take-home pay significantly compared to neighboring California. The state’s healthcare infrastructure is still maturing relative to its population, creating opportunities for new facilities and imaging centers. Reno’s proximity to Northern California’s labor market drives competitive wages in that region as well.


More resources

ARMRIT Accredited Nationally recognized certification
334+ Clinical Sites Partner network in 38 states
Starting at $11,500 Payment plans available

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the path. The X-ray-first route is a 2-year radiography degree followed by an MRI certificate, often about another year. One Nevada program in the table above, Truckee Meadows Community College (MRI Skills Certificate, Primary Pathway), takes students with no imaging credential; its length is listed in the Length column. Tesla MR's hybrid certificate takes most students 12 to 18 months.

BLS does not break CT out separately; it reports radiologic technologists and technicians, which includes X-ray and CT, at a Nevada median of $82,910 versus $98,260 for MRI technologists (May 2025). Nationally the figures are $80,110 and $95,480. MRI is the higher-paid modality in both sets of numbers.

The coursework is real: MRI physics, cross-sectional anatomy, pulse sequences, and safety around a magnet that is always on. Most students who put in steady weekly hours pass. In Nevada the harder part is often getting a seat, since campus MRI cohorts are small and most admit once a year. Every path ends with a national registry exam, ARRT or ARMRIT.

Yes. Truckee Meadows Community College (MRI Skills Certificate, Primary Pathway) and Tesla MR's hybrid certificate both accept students with no prior imaging credential. The post-primary certificates in the table require an existing ARRT, ARDMS, or NMTCB registry, so check the prior X-ray column before you apply anywhere.

Our Clinical Sites team leads placement. You are not expected to secure your own site. If you know a facility, you can propose it, but we review it, confirm capacity, sign the agreement, and approve it. The affiliated Nevada health systems are listed on this page.

MRI tech schools in nearby cities and states

Take the next step

Ready to start your MRI career in Nevada?

Join hundreds of students training at clinical sites across the country. No prerequisites, no application fee, rolling admissions.

MRI Training in Nevada 12-18 months · No prerequisites
Apply Now